Teriyaki Chicken & Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I used the teriyaki recipe from this White On Rice Couple recipe but doubled it so I could use it for both the chicken and the sprouts. 

I subbed white wine (I had some leftover) for the sake and coconut sugar for the brown sugar, otherwise everything else was as written.  

Image

For the chicken, I marinated 2 large bone-in-breasts for a couple of hours (using a little over half of the teriyaki marinade – the rest I reserved in a mason jar to add to the brussels after they roasted).  

To cook it, I put the breasts in a (greased) cast iron pot that had gotten hot, skin side down, put the lid on, and let it sear for a few minutes.  I didn’t add the teriyaki marinade. 

After a few minutes, I opened the lid and flipped the blackened breasts (I had to scrape them off a bit because they stuck to the bottom of the pot as they charred on the high heat).  Then I added the rest of the teriyaki marinade, closed the lid, turned the heat down to medium, and let it cook uninterrupted for 25 minutes.  At ~25 minutes I used the meat thermometer and it read >165 so I turned the stove off and let it sit with the lid on until dinner time.  

Image

 

There was extra sauce that I poured over everything (it was super good).  Maybe serve with rice/quinoa next time to soak up the extra sauce?  

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

