“The best ever” crock-pot pulled pork

It actually was the best ever, considering it was my first time making pulled pork.

IMG_5022

Or any pork for that matter.  All kids of firsts on this blog!

IMG_4999 IMG_5001

I used this recipe for “the best pulled pork in a crock pot” by 100 days of real food.  It could not have been easier. I just placed the onion in the bottom, put the tied up pork shoulder on top and then poured the  marinade over.  Cooked it on low for ~8 hours and it split open like buttah at the slightest nudge.

IMG_5018 IMG_5019

The only change I made was in reducing the amount of sugar – I used 1/4 cup maple syrup and 1/4 cup coconut sugar instead of the 1/2 cup honey called for (only because I didn’t want to use that a much of my local raw fancy schmancy honey on this).

IMG_5020

Served with corn and baked potatoes.

IMG_5021

It doesn’t photograph well, but holy hell it was the best.  So rich.  Sooooo tender.  For an ex-vegetarian, I have a lot to eat to make up for lost time.

Leave a Reply

