Tyler Florence’s pork rub

I know I just shared a pulled pork recipe, but clearly I am smitten…because here’s another.  [Full disclosure I made them a few weeks apart]

IMG_5697

This time I used an already prepared rub.

IMG_5672

Tyler Florence’s brown sugar pork rub.

I wasn’t sure if it was okay to use a rub for ribs on a shoulder cut.  It seemed like a yummy sounding recipe for pulled pork, but what do I know!?  Hard to tell what was in it aside from brown sugar and “spices”.

IMG_5673

The most frustrating thing about this labeling is it gives no info for people with allergies. Can we work on that Tyler?

IMG_5675

I combined the rub with red wine vinegar and olive oil to create a slurry to slather over the pork.  I then cooked it on low for ~8 hours in the slow cooker.

IMG_5699

Good, but not great.  The previous pulled pork recipe I made was superior so I’ll stick with that from now on.

 

Leave a Reply

